Birth Month

For the past 27 years, I never looked forward to my birthdays, more so, my birthmonths. July, if anything, was always associated with misfortunes, tragedies, and, at the very least, extreme weather disturbances.

Who could ever forget that it was July of 1990 when a great earthquake literally and figuratively shook the country, claiming thousands of innocent lives and destroying millions worth of properties? Or that it was also July, a decade after that great earthquake, when a dump site, or a mountain of garbage more like, devoured the lives of hundreds of Payatas residents? Or that it is also July when the country entertains the most number of tropical storms or typhoons?

For me, there was nothing special about my birth month.

But this year, July broke its routine.

The prospects of the movie version of Transformers, Christina Aguilera’s Back to Basics Concert Tour, the next movie installment of Harry Potter (and the Order of the Phoenix), and the conclusion of the Harry Potter Series (HP and the Deathly Hallows) are more than enough to get me excited for this month. With these, I took it upon myself to watch the concert and the movies, and to race through the pages of the last HP book.

As of this writing, I have already accomplished three of the above self-accomplished missions. And so far, I can say that my birth month is fulfilling its promise. Or “Overdelivering” its promise, I should say. So, I feel obliged to give it justice.

And while I consider this entry delayed (as this should have been written at the beginning of the month), succeeding posts are now underway to give this special month the attention and appreciation it deserves.

At least, for now, I can say that July 2007 is my BEST birth month.

~ by Yuri on Sunday, 15 July 2007.

One Response to “Birth Month”

  1. oi, HULYO ka din pla! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
