First Serving

I really wanted to start my own blog with a bang, and my first entry, controversial.  But being the mediocre and lamentable creative copywriter that I am, I ran out of crazy ideas to put here in the page.

For more than a year now, I’ve been dreaming of starting my page.  I’ve been thinking and planning about the concepts – the design, the general theme, the posts – that I would incorporate here.  But once I began to organize and reorganize my thoughts, I faced that familiar blank wall.

A friend, now an avid blogger and blog stalker, told me that blogs need not have any concept nor a general theme at all.  He said that blogwriting is almost always extemporaneous, more like “stream of consciousness“.

But I am never spontaneous.  I hate surprises.  I always like every thing in order – my drawer, my cabinet, my files, my bag, my schedule, my itinerary… Yeah, even my thoughts, however canned they are.  And now, my blog.

Obsessive-Compulsive?  Yeah, you can say that.

I believe that blogs, just like written journals, are a way to express what’s on someone’s mind.  Subconsciously, bloggers give their readers a preview of how their minds work.  In that case, I don’t want my readers to think that I’m such a fucked up loser with scattered thoughts and lousy grammar.

If I were to give my readers a taste of what’s actually cooking in my head, I would give them something palatable, something definitely delicious, delectable, and digestible.

So that when they finally have a taste of that first serving, they will be craving for more.

Now, would you care for another serving?

~ by Yuri on Tuesday, 3 July 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
